In 2000, film critic Harvey Karten founded NYFCO (New York Film Critics Online), composed of a variety of internet film critics based in New York City. Each December, the group meets to discuss and vote for the annual NYFCO awards. NYFCO announced this year’s winners Sunday December 7, 2014.

Below,  a list of the winners:

Best Picture: Boyhood

Best Director: Richard Linklater: Boyhood

Best Actress: Marion Cotillard: Two Days, One Night

Best Actor: Eddie Redmayne:  The Theory of Everything

Best Supporting Actress: Patricia Arquette: Boyhood

Best Supporting Actor: J.K. Simmons: Whiplash

Best Ensemble Cast: Birdman

Breakthrough Performance: Jack O’Connell: Starred Up/Unbroken

Debut Director: Dan Gilroy: Nightcrawler

Best Screenplay: Birdman

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki:  Birdman

Best Use of Music: Get On Up

Best Foreign Film Winner: Two Days, One Night


Feature Image:  Boyhood, IFC Films