The 2016 Spirit Awards were held on Saturday, February 27 in Santa Monica California. The ceremony was televised on IFC and hosted by Kate McKinnon, Saturday Night Live cast member and soon-to-be Ghostbusters reboot star, and Silicon Valley‘s Kumail Nanjiani. Jessica Chastain, a renowned champion of independent film, served as honorary chair.

With a little over 24 hours to go before the Academy Awards, this ceremony serves as the final predictive stepping stone before the big show. This year, Spotlight took most of the, well, spotlight, but a complete list of winners is offered below.

Best Feature

Beasts of No Nation
Spotlight– Winner

Best Director

Sean Baker, Tangerine
Cary Fukunaga, Beasts of No Nation
Todd Haynes, Carol
Charlie Kaufman and Duke Johnson, Anomalisa
Tom McCarthy, Spotlight– Winner
David Roger Mitchell, It Follows

Best Screenplay

Charlie Kaufman, Anomalisa
Donald Margulies, The End of the Tour
Phyllis Nagy, Carol
Tom McCarthy & Josh Singer, Spotlight – Winner
Craig Zahler, Bone Tomahawk

Best Female Lead

Cate Blanchett, Carol
Brie Larson, Room – Winner
Rooney Mara, Carol
Bel Polowy, Diary of a Teenage Girl
Kitana Kiki Rodriguez, Tangerine

Best Male Lead

Christopher Abbot, James White
Abraham Attah, Beasts of No Nation – Winner
Ben Mendelshon, Mississippi Grind
Jason Segel, End of the Tour
Koudous Seihon, Mediterranea

Best Supporting Female

Robin Bartlet, H.
Marin Ireland, Glass Chin
ennifer Jason Leigh, Anomalisa
Cynthia Nixon, James White
Mya Taylor, Tangerine – Winner

Best Supporting Male

Kevin Corrigan, Results
Paul Dano, Love & Mercy
Idris Elba, Beasts of No Nation – Winner
Richard Jenkins, Bone Tomahawk
Michael Shannon, 99 Homes

Best Documentary

Best of Enemies
Heart of a Dog
The Look of Silence – Winner
Russian Woodpecker

Best First Feature

The Diary of a Teenage Girl– Winner
James White
Manos Sucas
Songs My Brothers Taught Me

Best First Screenplay

Jesse Andrews, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
Joseph Carpignano, Mediterranea
Emma Donoghue, Room
Marielle Heller, The Diary of a Teenage Girl
John Magary, Russell Harbaugh, Myna Joseph, The Mend

Best Editing

Beasts of No Nation
Heaven Knows What
It Follows
Spotlight – Winner

Best Cinematography

Beasts of No Nation
Carol – Winner
It Follows
Songs My Brothers Taught Me

Best International Film

Embrace of the Serpent
Son of Saul –  Winner

John Cassavettes Award (Best Feature Under $500,000)

Christmas, Again
Heaven Knows What
Krisha – Winner
Out of My Hand

Robert Altman Award


Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award

Chloe Zhoa
Felix Thompson – Winner
Robert Machoian & Rodrigo Ojeda-Beck


Featured Image: Spotlight, Open Road Films